What happens when women are bold?

BOLD adj. Brave/Spirited; Synonyms: Strength, Resilience, Audacious, Forward

Image Source: Pinterest

When a woman bangs the road ahead of her boundaries, and aims to undertake professions that males have set foot on, drives risks and works with courage, she is bold. When she’s able to stand all alone at any cost, when the question is of her rights to relish, and responsibilities to be attained, she is bold. And when a woman decides to be bold, the perspective of society alters — Yes it does! The old society switches into a modern society and the status of women become equal to men. Well, really? Let’s dig a little more into the gravity of boldness.

Patriarchal society suppresses every female since her birth as she is taught the culture of getting emotionally involved in the household activities. Getting involved in household activities isn’t really a concern, but “only” getting involved, certainly is. If the notions are changed from her early ages, she would able to discover herself in a certain way to reach a peak, circling her mental and physical power. You see, to change the situations of being bullied, of being looked down upon, women need to explore themselves which starts with a voice of

“I have a vagina, I wear a bra, I have a menstrual cramp, I can give birth, and no male can be who I am; for, that’s why I love myself for being a woman. And I shall keep repeating this out loud till I breathe my last breath.”

So tell me- Is being bold solely restricted to backless blouses or hot shorts that refuse to cover those well-fleshed thighs or those sleeveless string tops or some heavily padded bras lifting up the cleavage? Clearly no! Carrying any of these does not make or break one’s personality though. A woman’s personality is far beyond what you see in commercial films and in and around your locality. When she decides to let herself free from any mental or physical pressure that arises within herself due to the social stigma, when she chooses to not share the same bed with her husband, when she necessitates that daring attitude by stepping out of her comfort zone, hell yeah she is worth a bold lady.

Image Source: Gramto

Women are not just for the dazzling jewelry that hides them within themselves. Instead, they are for the rifle and the guns that shoot every taboo of the society. Those hands that cut the vegetables in the kitchen can also stab in when required.

Frankly, I can’t possibly tell about you, but when I say I’m a woman, I directly signify a full circle. Within her, resides the power to create, nurture and transform. Being bold for her is and has always been challenging; a tough job because being bold doesn’t solely mean to show passion and courage but also to continue to move on with the same energy, dedication, and determination.

Neither the women around you nor the women around me plead for appreciation, they humbly ask for the respect they rightly deserve. Well, well, there always exists an argument centering exceptions. But that is not our context, right? Today’s emerging world demands independent and fearless women who can battle against that society’s rulebook for their own liberty and autonomy.

I, being a girl yearn to see a successful life equipped with integrity. A lady packed with smartness, self-sufficiency, who can stand firm on her own decision, refusing to follow the crowd for her commitments is the boldest girl for me. Fight and struggle for your living but do not give up the best in you that will promise to make you shine; for, beauty catches heart but character gains attention.

Image Source: Pinterest

The practical implementation of gender equality has forever been rare. A distant dream indeed. I do not deny the loud efforts of a good portion of this transformed generation where men and women sip from the same cup of opportunities, measured on the same scale. But that doesn’t make me deny the existing mentality which believes, it is only a woman’s sheer deeds that build a home. Which believes a woman is bound to carry a baby someday or the other because after a period of time she would have nothing more to offer her husband to keep up that spark in her marriage. Just because you and I are treated well in our families, doesn’t imply that the rest of the bulk percentage of women have rightly tasted the menu of a good life; most importantly, a right life. Coming to the streets and shouting for women rights is way easier than putting a ban on treating this same community as sex toys.

Here, being bold means to commence change within us, within our family members and in our own ambience.

I often wonder about the significance of Women’s Day. It emphasizes our rights, isn’t it? It assures that that we are special indeed if I’m not wrong? But ladies, wherever you are, residing in whatsoever corner of this world, whether you are a boss lady or a darling daughter or a housewife or even an underprivileged woman, if you do feel voiceless from inside, if you do not feel the special in you no matter whoever you might be, spit on such days right away. Dare anybody else to stop you!

Image Source: Oxfam

Come on now, repeat after me:

Boldness is an integral part of me to have a content life without having to sacrifice my own whims and liberty. The number of times I’ll be humiliated; regardless of directly or indirectly, regardless of by my own people or people outside the door, I will take a firm stand out loud. I will start and continue being breezy in front of others. Because I am? Hell yeah you know it!

Shrestha.S.Purkayastha

Leave a comment